AppleVersus
iPhone Duo · price & SIM

The lowest price is in the US, and no market gets a SIM tray.

What the iPhone Duo costs in 8 markets, at every storage size with its tax label. The 256GB Duo is cheapest in the United States at USD 1,999 and dearest in the United Kingdom at GBP 1,999 (about USD 2,703), though tax is included in some markets and not in others. There is no SIM trade-off to weigh: every version is eSIM only, even in China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, where the iPhone 18 Pro keeps its tray.

See the price in every market

We sample 8 markets only — United States, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, Australia, United Kingdom, Germany. Other countries Apple sells in are not covered here.

What this report compares

The iPhone Duo is sold under one name, but the price and the phone you get both depend on where you buy it. Each version has its own model number and its own list of mobile frequency bands, which decides whether it works fully with your carrier at home. In every market we read, the Duo takes eSIM only.

It matters most if you buy abroad, import a phone, or buy one second-hand. The name on the box is the same everywhere; the hardware inside may not be.

The 4 versions

United States

A3447. eSIM only — no SIM tray. mmWave 5G. 29 5G bands and 31 LTE bands.

China

A3721. eSIM only — no SIM tray. No mmWave 5G. 22 5G bands and 27 LTE bands.

Hong Kong, Taiwan, Australia, United Kingdom and Germany

A3720. eSIM only — no SIM tray. No mmWave 5G. 23 5G bands and 28 LTE bands.

Japan

A3719. eSIM only — no SIM tray. No mmWave 5G. 26 5G bands and 33 LTE bands.

Why these markets? They are the 8 we read for every product: the United States, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, Australia, the United Kingdom and Germany, each from Apple's own pages on the same day. Between them they turn up 4 versions of the iPhone Duo.

How to read this report

  1. What it costs in each market: every storage size, with tax labels
  2. What differs between the versions: frequency bands
  3. Compare two markets yourself: where you live against where you might buy

Specifications and prices were read from Apple's own pages on 12 September 2026, and the sources are listed at the end. Prices change, so check Apple's store before you buy.

The short answer

The cheapest market is the United States, at USD 1,999 for 256GB against GBP 1,999 in the United Kingdom. Unlike the iPhone 18 Pro there is no SIM-tray trade to weigh, because every Duo is eSIM only in every market. What you give up buying abroad is local warranty and walk-in support. Compare the prices with care: tax treatment differs from market to market.

Part 1

All 8 markets

Converted to US dollars at rates from 12 September 2026, the 256GB iPhone Duo costs the least in the United States, at USD 1,999, and the most in the United Kingdom, at GBP 1,999 or about USD 2,703. Treat that gap with care. Tax is excluded from the price in the United States, included in China, Taiwan and Germany, and not stated in Hong Kong, Japan, Australia and the United Kingdom. Each card below lists every storage size in local currency with its tax label, and the currency menu at the top of the page can convert them.

Every market sells the same storage sizes and colours: 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB, in Night Sky and Star White. What differs is on the cards below.

United States

LL/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G SupportedA3447LL/A
256GBUSD 1,999
512GBUSD 2,199
1TBUSD 2,599
2TBUSD 3,199
Excludes sales tax

China

CH/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G Not supportedA3721CH/A
256GBCNY 15,999
512GBCNY 17,999
1TBCNY 21,499
2TBCNY 26,499
Tax included

Hong Kong

ZA/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G Not supportedA3720ZA/A
256GBHKD 17,499
512GBHKD 19,299
1TBHKD 22,799
2TBHKD 27,999
Tax treatment not stated

Taiwan

ZP/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G Not supportedA3720ZP/A
256GBTWD 74,900
512GBTWD 81,900
1TBTWD 96,900
2TBTWD 118,900
Tax included

Japan

J/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G Not supportedA3719J/A
256GBJPY 364,800
512GBJPY 399,800
1TBJPY 469,800
2TBJPY 574,800
Tax treatment not stated

Australia

X/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G Not supportedA3720X/A
256GBAUD 3,499
512GBAUD 3,899
1TBAUD 4,699
2TBAUD 5,899
Tax treatment not stated

United Kingdom

QN/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G Not supportedA3720QN/A
256GBGBP 1,999
512GBGBP 2,199
1TBGBP 2,599
2TBGBP 3,199
Tax treatment not stated

Germany

ZD/A
eSIM only — no SIM traymmWave 5G Not supportedA3720ZD/A
256GBEUR 2,299
512GBEUR 2,549
1TBEUR 3,049
2TBEUR 3,799
Tax included
Part 2

What actually differs

Every version is eSIM only, so what separates them is the radio. One phone covers 5 markets: Hong Kong, Taiwan, Australia, the United Kingdom and Germany. China's version is that phone without band 53. Japan's has every 5G band the US one has apart from mmWave, including three low-frequency bands most markets lack (n14, n29 and n71), plus two LTE bands the US one lacks (11 and 21). mmWave 5G itself is on the US version only.

Select a finding to see which markets it applies to.

Part 3

Compare two markets

Pick the market you live in as A and the one you might buy in as B. The comparison lists only what differs between the two: SIM, mmWave 5G, model numbers, part-number suffix, price, and every 5G and LTE band gained or lost. If B's version lacks a band, ask your carrier at home whether it uses that band.

The bottom line

The US price looks lowest, but it excludes sales tax while several other markets include it, so the gap to those markets is smaller than it looks.

If you rely on physical SIM cards, no iPhone Duo takes one, wherever you buy it. Before buying, check that your carrier supports eSIM, and the carriers where you travel too.

If you are choosing between Hong Kong, Taiwan, Australia, the United Kingdom and Germany, the cellular hardware is identical, so decide on price and where you want after-sales service. China's version is the same phone without band 53; if you plan to use one outside China, check that your carrier does not rely on band 53.

If you live in the United States and want mmWave 5G, buy the US version: no other has it. mmWave only helps where your carrier offers it.

Where this comes from

Specificationsapple.com/<market>/iphone-duo/specs/
Pricesapple.com/<market>/shop/buy-iphone/iphone-duo

Last updated 2026-09-12