AppleVersus
Local AI · Mac Studio vs Mac mini vs DGX Spark

At 128 GB, DGX Spark costs less. The Mac Studio moves memory more than twice as fast.

Apple's Mac mini and Mac Studio against NVIDIA's DGX Spark, for running AI models on your own desk: which models each can hold, how fast they run, what extra memory costs, and which one to buy.

What this report compares

Running an AI model locally means it runs on a computer you own, not on another company's servers. Your prompts and documents stay on the machine, it works without an internet connection, and nobody charges you per use. The catch is hardware: the model has to fit in memory, and data has to move through that memory quickly enough to be useful.

That is why this report looks at three small desktops built around unified memory, a single pool that the processor and the graphics chip share. On most PCs the graphics card has its own, separate memory; on these three the graphics chip draws on the shared pool, which is how a box that fits on a desk can hold a model tens of gigabytes in size.

The three candidates

Mac mini

Apple's compact desktop, with M6 or M5 Pro. 16–64 GB of memory, 12.7 × 12.7 × 5 cm, 0.67–0.73 kg. From USD $899.

Mac Studio

Apple's larger desktop, with M5 Max or M5 Ultra. 36–512 GB of memory, 19.7 × 19.7 × 9.5 cm, 2.7–3.6 kg. From USD $2,499.

DGX Spark

NVIDIA's desktop AI computer, built on its GB10 chip and running NVIDIA DGX OS with Ubuntu Linux. 128 GB of memory, 15 × 15 × 5.05 cm, 1.2 kg. USD $4,699.

Why these three? All are small computers that sit on a desk and connect to a screen, all share one memory pool between processor and graphics chip, and their prices overlap: DGX Spark's USD $4,699 falls between the cheapest and the most expensive Mac Studio, and the top Mac mini costs more than the cheapest Mac Studio. Laptops, all-in-one Macs and PCs with separate graphics cards are different comparisons and are left out.

How to read this report

  1. Which models fit: memory decides whether a model can run at all
  2. How fast memory moves: the vendors' bandwidth figures, the best guide to writing speed
  3. Measured speed: published benchmarks, on the previous generation of Macs
  4. What more memory costs: US prices at each memory size
  5. Software, power, where to buy, and linking machines

Everything here was read from Apple's and NVIDIA's own pages and from published benchmarks on 14 September 2026; the sources are listed at the end. The new Macs are on pre-order, so check prices and availability before you buy.

The short answer

We count a machine as having room for a model when its memory is at least a quarter larger than the model file, to leave space for the system and the conversation. Neither Apple nor NVIDIA says how much memory the GPU may use.

Small models: gpt-oss-20b

The 4-bit file is 12.1 GB. Every machine here has room, and the cheapest is the Mac mini with M6 and 16 GB at USD $899. In published tests of the previous Macs, a Mac Studio (M3 Ultra) wrote 117 tokens a second, DGX Spark 86 and a Mac mini (M4 Pro) 63.

A 70B model: Llama 3.1 70B

The 4-bit file is 42.5 GB. The cheapest machine with room is the Mac mini with M5 Pro and 64 GB at USD $2,699. In published tests, the previous Mac Studio (M3 Ultra) wrote 14 tokens a second against 5 for a machine built on DGX Spark's chip.

A 120B model: gpt-oss-120b

The 4-bit file is 62.8 GB, too big for any Mac mini. DGX Spark has room at USD $4,699, and a Mac Studio from USD $5,099. In published tests, the previous Mac Studio (M3 Ultra) wrote 78 tokens a second and read a long prompt at 1,194; the GB10 machine managed 53 and 865.

More than 128 GB

Only the Mac Studio with M5 Ultra goes past 128 GB in one box: 256 GB from USD $9,499, and a 512 GB option with no price yet. NVIDIA says two linked DGX Sparks run models of up to 405 billion parameters; two cost USD $9,398 before the cable.

Part 1

Which models fit

Memory is the hard limit. A Mac mini tops out at 64 GB, and only that largest configuration has room for a 70B model. No Mac mini has room for gpt-oss-120b, so for that you need DGX Spark or a Mac Studio with at least 96 GB. Past 128 GB, the only single machine here is the Mac Studio with M5 Ultra.

Each dot is a memory option you can order, on a scale that doubles at every step. Lines A, B and C are model files: a machine needs a dot comfortably to the right of a line.

Mac miniM6 · 12-core GPU
16–32 GB
Mac miniM5 Pro
24–64 GB
Mac StudioM5 Max · 32-core GPU
36 GB
Mac StudioM5 Max · 40-core GPU
48–128 GB
Mac StudioM5 Ultra · 64-core GPU
96–256 GB
Mac StudioM5 Ultra · 80-core GPU
96–512 GB
DGX SparkGB10
128 GB
  • Agpt-oss-20b, 4-bit (MXFP4): 12.1 GB file
  • BLlama 3.1 70B, 4-bit (Q4_K_M): 42.5 GB file
  • Cgpt-oss-120b, 4-bit (Q4_K_M): 62.8 GB file

File sizes are as printed by llama.cpp in the benchmark runs below, converted from GiB. The 512 GB Mac Studio has no US price yet.

Show the numbers
MachineMemoryUS priceStorage
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU16 GBUSD $899256GB
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU24 GBUSD $1,099256GB
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU32 GBUSD $1,299256GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 16-core GPU24 GBUSD $1,699512GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 16-core GPU48 GBUSD $2,299512GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 16-core GPU64 GBUSD $2,699512GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 20-core GPU24 GBUSD $1,899512GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 20-core GPU48 GBUSD $2,499512GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 20-core GPU64 GBUSD $2,899512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 32-core GPU36 GBUSD $2,499512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 40-core GPU48 GBUSD $3,099512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 40-core GPU64 GBUSD $3,499512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 40-core GPU128 GBUSD $5,099512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra · 64-core GPU96 GBUSD $5,4991TB
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra · 64-core GPU256 GBUSD $9,4991TB
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra · 80-core GPU96 GBUSD $6,7991TB
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra · 80-core GPU256 GBUSD $10,7991TB
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra · 80-core GPU512 GBno price yet1TB
DGX Spark · GB10128 GBUSD $4,6994TB
Part 2

How fast memory moves

Every word a model writes means reading its weights out of memory again, so the speed memory moves at sets a ceiling on writing speed. DGX Spark's 273 GB/s is a little below the M5 Pro Mac mini's 307 and well below every Mac Studio, which run from 460 to 1,200 GB/s. On paper, DGX Spark holds as much as the 128 GB Mac Studio but writes more like a Mac mini. These are the vendors' own figures, not measurements.

Memory bandwidth, GB/s
Mac StudioM5 Ultra
1,200
Mac StudioM5 Max · 40-core GPU
614
Mac StudioM5 Max · 32-core GPU
460
Mac miniM5 Pro · 16-core GPU
307
DGX SparkGB10
273
Mac miniM6 · 12-core GPU · 24 / 32 GB
170
Mac miniM6 · 12-core GPU · 16 GB
153
Mac miniM5 Pro · 20-core GPU
not stated

Apple states 1.2TB/s for M5 Ultra, shown here as 1,200 GB/s. Apple states no figure for the M5 Pro with a 20-core GPU. On the M6 Mac mini, bandwidth depends on the memory you order.

Show the numbers
MachineMemory bandwidth, GB/s
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra1,200
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 40-core GPU614
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 32-core GPU460
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 16-core GPU307
DGX Spark · GB10273
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU · 24 / 32 GB170
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU · 16 GB153
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 20-core GPUnot stated
Part 3

Measured speed, on the previous generation

Nobody has published benchmarks for the M5 and M6 Macs yet. These results are for the Macs they replace (M3 Ultra and M4 Pro) and for DGX Spark or a machine built on its GB10 chip. They show the size of the gap, not what the new Macs will do.

The measured results agree with the bandwidth figures on writing and complicate the rest. In all three matched tests, the previous Mac Studio wrote faster than the GB10 machine. Reading a prompt is split: the GB10 machine was faster with gpt-oss-20b and Llama 3.1 70B, the Mac Studio with gpt-oss-120b. These are the Macs the new ones replace, and software versions differ, so read the gaps, not the exact numbers.

gpt-oss-20b · 4-bit MXFP4 · llama.cpp · 2,048-token prompt

Reading the prompt · tokens a second
Mac StudioM3 Ultra · previous generation
2,446
DGX SparkGB10
3,798
Mac miniM4 Pro · previous generation
701
Writing · tokens a second
Mac StudioM3 Ultra · previous generation
117
DGX SparkGB10
86
Mac miniM4 Pro · previous generation
63

Posted by different people on different llama.cpp versions: build 6280 on both Macs, 7067 on DGX Spark. Newer software may be part of DGX Spark's lead.

Show the numbers
MachineReading the prompt · tokens a secondWriting · tokens a secondllama.cpp build
Mac Studio · M3 Ultra · previous generation2,446.12116.636280
DGX Spark · GB103,797.7686.237067
Mac mini · M4 Pro · previous generation700.7863.346280

Llama 3.1 70B · 4-bit Q4_K_M · llama.cpp · 4,096-token prompt

Reading the prompt · tokens a second
Mac StudioM3 Ultra · previous generation
151
Dell Pro Max with GB10same chip as DGX Spark
224
Writing · tokens a second
Mac StudioM3 Ultra · previous generation
14
Dell Pro Max with GB10same chip as DGX Spark
5

Both measured by one reviewer, Jeff Geerling, on llama.cpp build 7129 (GB10) and 7315 (Mac). The GB10 machine is Dell's Pro Max with GB10, which uses the same chip as DGX Spark.

Show the numbers
MachineReading the prompt · tokens a secondWriting · tokens a secondllama.cpp build
Mac Studio · M3 Ultra · previous generation151.4214.087315
Dell Pro Max with GB10 · same chip as DGX Spark223.824.717129

gpt-oss-120b · 4-bit Q4_K_M · llama.cpp · 4,096-token prompt

Reading the prompt · tokens a second
Mac StudioM3 Ultra · previous generation
1,194
Dell Pro Max with GB10same chip as DGX Spark
865
Writing · tokens a second
Mac StudioM3 Ultra · previous generation
78
Dell Pro Max with GB10same chip as DGX Spark
53

Both measured by one reviewer, Jeff Geerling, on llama.cpp build 7129 (GB10) and 7315 (Mac). The GB10 machine is Dell's Pro Max with GB10, which uses the same chip as DGX Spark.

Show the numbers
MachineReading the prompt · tokens a secondWriting · tokens a secondllama.cpp build
Mac Studio · M3 Ultra · previous generation1,193.9778.417315
Dell Pro Max with GB10 · same chip as DGX Spark865.1452.867129
Part 4

What more memory costs

At every memory size both sell, a Mac mini costs less than a Mac Studio. At 128 GB, DGX Spark's USD $4,699 is USD $400 less than the cheapest 128 GB Mac Studio, and it comes with 4 TB of storage against the Mac's 512 GB. Past 128 GB, only the Mac Studio remains: USD $9,499 for 256 GB.

The cheapest US price at each memory size, for each product. Storage differs: the cheapest Mac mini has 256 GB, the Mac Studio 512 GB or 1 TB, and DGX Spark comes only with 4 TB.

  • Mac mini
  • Mac Studio
  • DGX Spark

Where Apple lists an upgrade price rather than a whole configuration, the price shown adds it to the base configuration, and every sum is checked against a configuration Apple does list. The Macs are on pre-order. US list prices on Apple's and NVIDIA's stores, read 14 September 2026.

Show the numbers
MachineMemoryUS priceStorage
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU16 GBUSD $899256GB
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU24 GBUSD $1,099256GB
Mac mini · M6 · 12-core GPU32 GBUSD $1,299256GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 16-core GPU48 GBUSD $2,299512GB
Mac mini · M5 Pro · 16-core GPU64 GBUSD $2,699512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 32-core GPU36 GBUSD $2,499512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 40-core GPU48 GBUSD $3,099512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 40-core GPU64 GBUSD $3,499512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra · 64-core GPU96 GBUSD $5,4991TB
Mac Studio · M5 Max · 40-core GPU128 GBUSD $5,099512GB
Mac Studio · M5 Ultra · 64-core GPU256 GBUSD $9,4991TB
DGX Spark · GB10128 GBUSD $4,6994TB
Part 5

Will your software run?

The common local tools run on both. DGX Spark adds NVIDIA's serving software and native 4-bit FP4 and 8-bit FP8 formats; MLX, Apple's own framework, is documented for the Mac only.

If your tools are llama.cpp, Ollama or LM Studio, all three machines run them. The differences are at the edges: NVIDIA's own serving software, TensorRT-LLM, does not run on a Mac; vLLM and SGLang are only partly supported there; and Apple's MLX has no official DGX Spark documentation.

ToolMacDGX Spark
llama.cppYesYes
OllamaYesYes
LM StudioYesYes
MLX / mlx-lmYesNot documented
vLLMPartialYes
SGLangPartialYes
TensorRT-LLMNoPartial
PyTorchPartialYes
Hugging Face TransformersYesYes
ComfyUIYesYes
Fine-tuningYesYes

“Not documented” means the project's own documentation does not cover it, not that it cannot work.

Part 6

Power

Apple states the most power each Mac draws continuously. NVIDIA states the rating of DGX Spark's power supply and the chip's power limit. Those are different measurements, so they are listed, not ranked.

MachineWhat the vendor statesFigure
Mac miniMaximum continuous power (Apple)155 W
Mac StudioMaximum continuous power (Apple)480 W
DGX SparkPower supply rating (NVIDIA)240 W
DGX SparkGB10 chip power limit (NVIDIA)140 W
Part 7

Where DGX Spark is sold

The prices above are US prices, because the US is the only one of our eight markets where DGX Spark has a published price and is in stock. Elsewhere, on 14 September 2026:

MarketDGX SparkPrice
United StatesIn stock at NVIDIAUSD $4,699
ChinaOfficial sellers, no published price—
Hong KongNo NVIDIA channel found—
TaiwanOfficial sellers, no published price—
JapanPrice from ELSA, an NVIDIA-listed partner, tax includedJPY ¥1,045,000
AustraliaOfficial sellers, no published price—
United KingdomListed at NVIDIA, out of stockGBP £4,200
GermanyListed at NVIDIA, currently unavailableEUR €4,800

Mac prices outside the US are not compared on this page.

Part 8

Linking machines

NVIDIA documents linking two DGX Sparks over their 200 Gb/s ConnectX-7 ports and says a pair runs models of up to 405 billion parameters. Its product page says up to four run models of up to 700 billion.

Apple added RDMA over Thunderbolt 5 in macOS 26.2, for running a model across several Macs with MLX. Apple gives no figure for how large a model that allows.

The bottom line

If you mostly run models up to about 20 billion parameters, or want to start small, the Mac mini is the cheapest way in: the Mac mini with M6 and 16 GB at USD $899 has room for gpt-oss-20b, and the Mac mini with M5 Pro and 64 GB at USD $2,699 for a 70B model.

If you want the largest models or the fastest writing, look at the Mac Studio. It is the only machine here that goes past 128 GB and it has the highest memory bandwidth, and the previous generation already wrote faster than a GB10 machine in every matched test.

If your work depends on NVIDIA's software or its 4-bit FP4 format, if prompt-reading speed matters most (the GB10 machine led in two of the three tests), or if you want 128 GB for the least money, DGX Spark fits better. It costs USD $400 less than a 128 GB Mac Studio and adds 4 TB of storage, but on paper it writes more slowly.

No benchmarks for the new Macs had been published when this report was written, and the gaps above may change once they are.

Where this comes from

Specifications and pricesmarketplace.nvidia.com/en-us/enterprise/personal-ai-supercomputers/dgx-spark/
Specifications and priceswww.apple.com/mac-mini/specs/
Specifications and priceswww.apple.com/mac-studio/specs/
Show all 49 sources
Specifications and priceswww.apple.com/shop/buy-mac/mac-mini
Specifications and priceswww.apple.com/shop/buy-mac/mac-studio
Specifications and priceswww.nvidia.com/en-us/products/workstations/dgx-spark/
Benchmarksgithub.com/geerlingguy/ai-benchmarks/issues/34#issuecomment-3565587153
Benchmarksgithub.com/geerlingguy/ai-benchmarks/issues/42#issuecomment-3624042296
Benchmarksgithub.com/ggml-org/llama.cpp/discussions/15396#discussioncomment-14226807
Benchmarksgithub.com/ggml-org/llama.cpp/discussions/15396#discussioncomment-14249698
Benchmarksgithub.com/ggml-org/llama.cpp/discussions/16578#discussioncomment-14980101
Software documentationdeveloper.apple.com/metal/pytorch/
Software documentationdocs.nvidia.com/dgx/dgx-spark/hardware.html
Software documentationlmstudio.ai/docs/app/system-requirements
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/TensorRT-LLM/main/docs/source/release-notes.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/TensorRT-LLM/main/docs/source/supported-hardware.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/dgx-spark-playbooks/main/nvidia/playbook-comfyui/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/dgx-spark-playbooks/main/nvidia/playbook-llama-cpp/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/dgx-spark-playbooks/main/nvidia/playbook-pytorch-fine-tune/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/dgx-spark-playbooks/main/nvidia/playbook-sglang/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/dgx-spark-playbooks/main/nvidia/playbook-unsloth/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/NVIDIA/dgx-spark-playbooks/main/nvidia/playbook-vllm/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/comfyanonymous/ComfyUI/master/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/ggml-org/llama.cpp/master/README.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/huggingface/transformers/main/docs/source/en/perf_train_special.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/ml-explore/mlx-lm/main/mlx_lm/LORA.md
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/ml-explore/mlx/main/docs/src/install.rst
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/ollama/ollama/main/docs/gpu.mdx
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/ollama/ollama/main/docs/macos.mdx
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/sgl-project/sglang/main/docs/docs/hardware-platforms/apple_metal.mdx
Software documentationraw.githubusercontent.com/vllm-project/vllm/main/docs/getting_started/installation/cpu.apple.inc.md
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/de-de/enterprise/personal-ai-supercomputers/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/en-au/enterprise/personal-ai-supercomputers/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/en-gb/enterprise/personal-ai-supercomputers/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/en-us/enterprise/personal-ai-supercomputers/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/ja-jp/enterprise/personal-ai-supercomputers/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/zh-cn/developer/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/zh-hk/developer/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitymarketplace.nvidia.com/zh-tw/enterprise/personal-ai-supercomputers/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitynvidia.mmt.com.au/collections/nvidia-dgx-spark
DGX Spark availabilitynvidia.mmt.com.au/products/nvidia-dgx-spark-founders-edition
DGX Spark availabilityshop.cancom.de/de/spotlights/nvidiadgxspark
DGX Spark availabilityshop.elsa-jp.jp/view/item/000000001031
DGX Spark availabilitywww.leadtek.com/cht/products/AI_HPC(37)/NVIDIA_DGX_Spark_Founders_Edition(51035)/detail
DGX Spark availabilitywww.nvidia.cn/products/workstations/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitywww.nvidia.cn/products/workstations/dgx-spark/where-to-buy/
DGX Spark availabilitywww.nvidia.com/en-us/products/workstations/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitywww.nvidia.com/ja-jp/products/workstations/dgx-spark/
DGX Spark availabilitywww.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001045810/000104581026000075/nvda-20260726.htm

Last updated 2026-09-14